Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CLA Awards
Share |

CLA Awards

The California Library Association honors members of the California library community every year at its annual Awards Gala.

John & Patricia Beatty Award
The John & Patricia Beatty Award honors the author of a distinguished book for children or young adults that best promotes an awareness of California and its people. A committee of librarians selects the winning title from books published in the United States within a given year. Patricia Beatty donated the initial cash endowment for the award. It was Patricia Beatty’s hope that this award will encourage the writing of quality children’s books that bring us an awareness of California, its heritage or its future.

California Library Hall of Fame
The California Library Hall of Fame honors the historical significance and lifetime achievements of the many librarians, library workers, and supporters who have helped promote and improve library services in California.

California Young Reader Medal
Since its inception in 1974, millions of California children have nominated, read, and voted for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal – a program to encourage recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state.

CLA Technical Services New Leader Award
The CLA Technical Services New Leader Award cultivates new leadership in the field of library technical services. The award is sponsored by Brodart.

CLA Technical Services Award of Achievement
The CLA Technical Services Award of Achievement recognizes colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in those areas of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology and work environments. 

CLA Technology New Leader Award
The CLA Technology New Leader Award cultivates new leadership in the field of library and information technology. The award is sponsored by The Galecia Group.

CLA Technology Professional Award
The CLA Technology Professional Award acknowledges superior achievement in those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. The award is sponsored by Springshare.

CLA Young Adult Services Award
The CLA Young Adult Services Award of Achievement recognizes the accomplishments of an exceptional librarian or paraprofessional working in young adult services in a school or public library.  The award is sponsored by the Bay Area Young Adult Librarians (BAYA).

Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award
The Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award, established in 2003, recognizes and honors a librarian who has demonstrated passion, excellence and dedication in support of adult literacy.  The award is sponsored by the Library of Congress Literacy Awards and the California Center for the Book.

PRExcellence Awards
The PRExcellence Awards honor the highest quality efforts of California libraries in promoting and communicating their message to their customers.

Zoia Horn Intellectual Freedom Award
The Zoia Horn Intellectual Freedom Award honors Californian people, groups, and organizations that have made significant contributions to intellectual freedom. The committee selects nominees based on recent or important lifetime contributions to intellectual freedom.

CLA President’s Award
The CLA President’s Award recognizes outstanding contributions, leadership and achievement in support of California libraries by a Trustee, Friend, Elected Official or other lay person(s) who has given his or her time and talents to further the advancement of California libraries.

CLA Member of the Year
The CLA Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of the California Library Association for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership and achievements in service to California libraries.