Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CLA Technology Professional Award
Share |

About the award|Current award recipient|Past award recipients

The CLA Technology Professional Award acknowledges superior achievement by an individual in those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. The award honors those who have made significant contributions in areas of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology.

A maximum of one award is given each year. The CLA Technology Professional Award recipient is presented with $400 and honored at the CLA annual conference.

The CLA Technology Professional Award is sponsored by Springshare.

Submit a nomination or application for the CLA Technology Professional Award

2018 Award Recipient

Kitty Felde, Book Club for Kids



Kitty Felde is host and executive producer of the Book Club for Kids podcast. She’s a public radio veteran who has reported on everything from the OJ Simpson trial to war crimes tribunals to Capitol Hill. She’s also an award-winning playwright and middle grade novelist. Book Club for Kids began as a segment on her award-winning public radio talk show. It launched as a podcast in 2015. The podcast was honored by the 2017 DC Mayor Muriel Bowser for “Excellence in the Humanities” and the "Literacy in Media" award from the Literacy Network of Greater Los Angeles. She is a founding board member of Kids Listen, a grassroots organization of advocates for high-quality audio content for children. Kitty fell in love with young adult literature when she was still a young adult herself, working at her local public library.



Award Information

Nomination period
The 2020 award nomination period is open until June 1, 2020.


  • Applicants or nominees are required to be CLA members.  If unsure, please contact the CLA Office for assistance no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.
  • Applicants or nominees must have worked for a portion of the past year in a California library.
  • Nominators are not required to be CLA members. However, if a nomination is made by a non-member, the nomination must be endorsed by a CLA member. If you need assistance in finding a CLA member to endorse your nomination, please contact the CLA office no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.

How to apply or nominate
The California library community is invited to apply or nominate a colleague for this award. Applicants or nominators should submit a statement (of no more than 500 words) identifying the achievement(s) and briefly describing the impact of the achievement(s) on those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. Criteria for selection are outstanding achievement in one or more of the following areas related to libraries and technology:

  • leadership in professional associations at the local, state, regional, national, or international level;
  • significant contributions to the development, application, or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques, and routines demonstrating creativity and innovation;
  • significant contributions to the professional literature;
  • significant studies or research.

Further Information

  • The CLA Technology Professional Award is coordinated by CLA's Technology Interest Group (TIG).
  • TIG may consider only those individuals who have been formally nominated for the award.
  • TIG reserves the right not to give an award if a qualified candidate is not found.
  • Award recipients will be asked to submit a photograph to be used in award publicity.
  • If you have any questions about the award, please contact Julie Oborny.

2020 CLA Technology Professional Award Committee

  • Phillip Ballo
  • Julie Oborny, San Jose Public Library 
  • Tim Ream, Fullerton College
  • Gabriella Terzian, San Diego Public Library
  • Stacy Tomaszewski, San Jose Public Library (Chair)

Application period will close on June 1, 2020


Please include information about the person you are nominating below.