Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CLA Member of the Year Award
Share |

Award information | Current award recipient | Past award recipients

CLA Member of the Year Award

The CLA Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of the California Library Association for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership and achievements in service to California libraries. The California library community is invited and encouraged to submit nominations for this prestigious award.

CLA's Member of the Year is honored at the CLA annual conference.

Nomination information for the CLA 's Member of the Year.

2018 Award Recipient

Morgan Rose Pershing, LA County Library

Morgan Rose Pershing is the Community Library Manager for Avalon Library on Catalina Island, part of LA County Library. During her time as a librarian, she has served children, teens, adults and seniors and has worked in public, special and academic libraries. Morgan is also a faculty member at SJSU’s iSchool, teaching classes on graphic novels and community partnerships. In addition, she is a Transforming Life after 50 Fellow and a Eureka! Leadership Institute Fellow (2011).

Morgan has worn many hats for CLA. Currently she serves on the California Center for the Book Advisory Council and oversees the Adult Services Interest Group (Adults are people, too!). She has presented at conferences on many topics, and helped create webinars for Library Journal, CLA, and other state library associations. Morgan is an outspoken advocate of all things library.


Award Information 

Nomination period
The 2019 award nomination period closed on Monday, April 15, 2019 at 5:00PM PST.


  • Nominees must be current members of the association who have held membership for at least three years.  If unsure, please contact the CLA Office for assistance no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.
  • Nominees must be, or must have been, working in a recognized library position or teaching in library education.
  • Elected officials of the Association (president, vice-president, immediate past-president, treasurer, ALA chapter councilor, and Board members) are excluded from consideration during their term of office.
  • Nominators are not required to be CLA members. However, if a nomination is made by a non-member, the nomination must be endorsed by a CLA member. If you need assistance in finding a CLA member to endorse your nomination, please contact the CLA office no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.

How to nominate
Nominators should submit:

  • Evidence of the nominee's significant contribution to the advancement of libraries and librarianship through professional activities. Consideration for selection as Member of the Year includes: distinguished service to the profession; active and innovative leadership in the development of libraries and the improvement of library service; and outstanding contributions in promoting libraries and bringing community, regional, or statewide recognition to libraries. The statement should be specific, should include dates where appropriate, and should not exceed 500 words.
  • At least two, and no more than four, letters of support for the nomination.

Please note: when submitting supplementary files by email, please label your files as follows: MOTY_nominee's last name_document (e.g.: MOTY_smith_letter of rec1).

Nominations should be submitted using the online nomination form below. Supplementary files may be emailed to Holly Macriss.

Further information

  • The CLA Member of the Year Award is coordinated by CLA's Member of the Year Committee.
  • The committee reserves the right not to give an award if a qualified candidate is not found.
  • Nominees are evaluated on the basis of evidence and support presented in the nomination as to the nature and scope of the accomplishments and on the committee's own knowledge of the nominee's qualifications. The committee is not expected to undertake research into the qualification of nominees.
  • Award recipients will be asked to submit a photograph to be used in award publicity.
  • Applications and all supplementary materials must be received by 5:00pm on the submission deadline. Postmarks will not be accepted.
  • If you have questions, please contact Erica Cuyugan, Chair of CLA's Member of the Year Committee.

Nomination period is now closed

2019 CLA Member of the Year Award Committee

  • Susan Broman, Los Angeles Public Library
  • Erica Cuyugan, Santa Monica Public Library (Chair)
  • Angelica Fortin, Paso Robles City Library
  • Paymaneh Maghsoudi, Whittier Public Library