Print Page | Sign In | Register
Advocacy & Legislation Committee
Share |

Committee Charge




Committee Charge

The Advocacy and Legislation Committee shall:

  1. Establish and maintain an effective legislative and advocacy network.
  2. Keep the Association informed on state and federal legislation affecting libraries.
  3. Promote legislative and advocacy support for library legislation.
  4. Encourage the understanding and involvement of membership in the legislative process.
  5. Present recommendations for legislation positions to the Board of Directors, or to the Executive Committee in between Board Meetings.
  6. In an emergency, the Advocacy and Legislation Committee may act on legislation without the formal approval of the Board, but with the consent of the President.


Committee members serve four year terms.


Carol Frost, Pacific Library Partnership, Committee Co-Chair (2016-2020)

Scott Love, Yolo County Library, Committee Co-Chair (2017-2021)


Migell Acosta, San Diego County Library, Member (2019-2023) 

Kris Amarel, Monterey County Free Libraries, Member (2019-2023)

Christopher Barnickel, San Luis Obispo County Library, Member (2019-2023)

Stephanie Beverage, Huntington Beach Public Library, Member (2017-2021)

Todd Deck, Tehama County Library, Member (2019-2023)

Deborah Doyle, Sonoma County Library Commissioner, Member (2015-2019)

Michael Eitner, Solano County Library, Member (2017-2021)

Patty Wong, Santa Monica Public Library, Member (2011-2020)

Lawrence (Larry) Meyer, San Bernardino County Law Library, Member (2017-2021)

Christopher Noll, Noll & Tam Architects, Member (2011-2020)

Rivkah Sass, Sacramento Public Library, Member (2015-2023)

Yolande Wilburn, Torrance Public Library, Member (2019-2023)


Christina DiCaro, KP Marketing Affairs

Michael (Mike) Dillon, KP Marketing Affairs

Greg Lucas, California State Library

Natalie Cole, California State Library

Annly Roman, California State Library

Hillary Theyer, Monterey County Free Libraries, CLA President

Jayanti Addleman, Hayward Public Library, Incoming CLA President

Anne Davis East, California Public Library Advocates Liaison

Cherelyn Hunt, Solano County Library, Literacy Liaison 

Sandra Levin, LA County Law Library, Council of California County Law Librarians Liaison

Paymaneh Maghsoudi, Whittier Public Library, CLSA Board Liaison 

Glen Warren, California School Library Association Liaison




Carol Frost, Pacific Library Partnership, Committee Co-Chair,

Scott Love, Yolo County Library, Committee Co-Chair,