Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
New Legislators Sworn In November 2014
Share |

December 2, 2014



FROM:           Mike Dillon, CLA Lobbyist
                       Christina DiCaro, CLA Lobbyist

RE:                 News From the Capitol



At noon yesterday, the California State Assembly and Senate convened at the State Capitol to welcome the legislative winners of the November 2014 election, and to officially kick-off the 2015-16 Legislative Session.  In the Assembly, 27 new members were sworn in to office during a ceremony filled with modest pomp and circumstance.  In the Senate, 5 new legislators with no previous Capitol experience were sworn in to office, along with 5 former Assemblymembers.  Meanwhile, it will be months before the Senate has a full house.  The Governor has called a special election for December 9 to fill the vacant seat of former Senator Rod Wright, and will need to call three more special elections next Spring to fill in the vacancies created by the departures of Senators Mark DeSaulnier, Steve Knight, and Mimi Walters who were elected to Congress in November.   

During Monday’s ceremony, new legislators were flanked by family members on their respective floors, and then celebratory lunches and receptions followed for most of the families and invited guests once the ceremonial duties had concluded.

As is standard protocol during the swearing in events, the leaders of each house are formally elected by the new legislature.  In the Senate, Kevin de Leon was approved to continue as the Senate President pro Tempore and the Republican Leader, Bob Huff, was again selected to lead his party.   In the Assembly, Toni Atkins was reaffirmed as the Assembly Speaker and Kristin Olsen will serve as the Assembly Republican Leader.  Speaker Atkins also released a list of her leadership team on Tuesday, November 25. 

They are: 

Majority Floor Leader – Assemblyman Chris Holden

Assistant Majority Floor Leader – Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia

Speaker pro Tempore – Assemblyman Kevin Mullin

Assistant Speaker pro Tempore – Assemblyman David Chiu

Majority Whip – Assemblyman Miguel Santiago

Assistant Majority Whip – Assemblyman Evan Low

Assistant Majority Whip – Assemblyman Jim Cooper

CLA has met several of the new legislators, and have been very impressed with them, and will begin setting up “meet and greets” with many more of the Freshmen electeds after the first of the year, when the legislature returns on January 5 to officially begin the 2015-16 Legislative Session.