Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Leadership Development Committee
Share |

Committee Charge




Committee Charge 

The Leadership Development Committee shall:

  1. Prepare a slate of at least one or more eligible candidates for each office or position to be filled at the time of the next annual election. A member may be a candidate for only one Association office or position during any annual election.
  2. Obtain written consent from each candidate before placing that person's name on the slate.
  3. Report the slate of candidates to the Association President and Executive Director.
  4. Foster activities that maintain and promote a pool of potential leaders and provide mentoring and leadership development activities.
  5. Make written recommendations to the Board of Directors of members to serve on committees, task forces, and other work groups.


The President, with the approval of the Board of Directors, shall appoint the Leadership Development Committee. The Leadership Development Committee will consist of the Immediate Past President as chair, and nine additional voting members of the Association. Members of the Committee shall serve for a three-year term, except for the Past President who will serve a one-year term. Committee members will be reflective of the association's geography, diversity, and Interest Groups. No members shall be eligible to serve more than one full term on the Leadership Development Committee without at least a three-year break in service.

Committee Members 

Kelly Behle, Santa Clarita Pubic Library (2016-2019) 

Chris Brown, Santa Clara County Library District (2015-2018) 

Jené Brown, Los Angeles Public Linrary (2016-2019)

Jeanette Contreras, Placentia Public Library (2015-2018)

Heidi Dolamore, City of Berkeley Public Library (2015-2018)

Brian Geunther, Oakland Public Library, MLK Branch (2016-2019)

Hilda Loh-Guan, County of Los Angeles Public Library (2017-2020)

Sharon McKellar, Oakland Public Library (2017-2020)

Angela Ocana, Santa Clara City Library (2017-2020)


Helen McAlary, Committee Chair: