Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Insider Article [February 2014] [02/04/14] (CLA Awards and Scholarships 2013) (copy)
Share |

CLA Awards and Scholarships 2014

Call for Nominations and Applications!

Please consider applying or nominating a colleague or library supporter for a CLA award, fellowship, or scholarship this year!

The deadline for all awards and scholarships is March 28, 2014 at 5:00pm PDT.

An overview of all CLA awards is below. They include:

  • scholarships for students;
  • awards for support of literacy and intellectual freedom;
  • awards for excellence in technical services, technology and public relations; and
  • awards for exceptional service and contributions and support of the profession.

Full information is available on CLA's website:

CLA Awards and Scholarships

The CLA Scholarship for Minority Students in Memory of Edna Yelland supports ethnic minority students in the attainment of a graduate degree in library or information science.

The Reference Service Press Fellowship encourages college seniors, graduates, and beginning library school students to prepare for a career in reference/ information service librarianship. Provided by Reference Service Press.

The Begun Scholarship supports continuing library school students who have demonstrated a commitment to becoming children's or young adult librarians in a California public library.

The California Library Hall of Fame honors the historical significance and lifetime achievement of the many librarians, library workers, and supporters who have helped promote and improve library services in California.

The CLA Technical Services New Leader Award recognizes a new TSIG leader who has actively and enthusiastically embraced their role within the Technical Services Interest Group and CLA. Sponsored by Brodart.

The CLA Technical Services Award of Achievement recognizes colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in those area of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology and work environments.

The CLA Technology New Leader Award cultivates new leadership in the field of library and information technology. Sponsored by Innovative Interfaces, Inc.

The CLA Technology Professional Award acknowledges superior achievement in those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. Sponsored by Springshare.

The Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award recognizes and honors a librarian who has demonstrated passion, excellence, and dedication in support of adult literacy. Sponsored by BALit, SCLLN, and NCLC.

The PRExcellence Awards honor the highest quality efforts of California libraries in promoting and communicating their message (please note: new entry categories for 2014).

The Zoia Horn Intellectual Freedom Award honors California people, groups, and organizations that have made significant contributions to intellectual freedom.

The CLA President's Award recognizes outstanding contributions, leadership, and achievement in support of California libraries by a Trustee, Friend, Elected Official, or other lay person(s) who has given his or her time and talents to further the advancement of California libraries.

The CLA Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of the California Library Association for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership, and achievements in service to California libraries.



Rosario Garza
Executive Director, California Library Association