Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Insider Article [January 2014] [1/07/14] (Awards and Scholarships Report)
Share |

Awards and Scholarships Report

CLA has a longstanding tradition of honoring excellence at its annual Awards Gala during conference. The Gala is the culmination of extensive work by award committees and chairs—who diligently solicit applications and nominations and identify the recipients of each award—and by CLA staff and the conference planning committee who plan the event. Thank you to Wayne Disher and Mary George for hosting the 2012 Awards Gala in San Jose, which was a highlight of last year’s conference!

2012 Award and Scholarship Recipients

The John and Patricia Beatty Award

Award Recipient: Joanne Rocklin
One Day and One Amazing Morning on Orange Street (Abrams, 2011)
Sponsor: Book Wholesalers, Inc.

California Young Reader Medal

Award Recipients

Primary: I Need My Monster by Amanda Noll and Howard Wright (Flashlight Press, 2009)

Intermediate: Violet Raines Almost Got Struck by Lightning by Danette Haworth (Walker Childrens, 2010)

Middle School/Junior High: Every Soul a Star by Wendy Mass (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2009)

Young Adult: Graceling by Kristen Cashore (Harcourt Children’s Books, 2008)

Picture Books for Older Readers: Henry’s Freedom Box by Ellen Levine and Kadir Nelson (Scholastic Press, 2007)

Sponsors: California Association of Teachers of English, California Library Association, California Reading Association. California School Library Association

Service Reference Press Fellowship

Award Recipient: Laura McClanathan
Sponsor: Reference Service Press 

The Begun Scholarship

Award Recipient: Meredith Steiner
Sponsor: The Begun Scholarship fund is administered by the California Library Association. Contributions to the fund are tax-deductible and always welcome. 

CLA Scholarship for Minority Students in Memory of Edna Yelland

Award Recipients:
Crystal Duran
Minh Le
Anna Raya Rivera
Sponsor: The Edna Yelland Scholarship fund is administered by the California Library Association. Contributions to the fund are tax-deductible and always welcome.

PRExcellence Awards

Award Recipients

Best in Show
Rancho Cucamonga Library Services for the Black History Cultural Arts Night

Under $5 Million Budget (Print Category)
Burlingame Public Library: Tasty Reads Adult Summer Reading Program

Under $5 Million Budget (Wild Card Category)
Rancho Cucamonga Library Services: Cultural Arts Nights

$5-10 Million Budget (Print Category)
Santa Clara City Library: Project Best: Basic Employment Skills Training

$5M-$10M Budget (Internet, Video, Television or Radio Category)
Beverly Hills Public Library: Imagine Your New Library

Over $10 Million Budget (Internet, Video, Television or Radio Category)
Fresno County Public Library: The Big Read: Jack London’s Call of the Wild

Technical Services New Leader Award

Award Recipient: Loretta Staal
Sponsor: Brodart Company 

Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award

Award Recipient: Christy A. Aguirre
Sponsors: Bay Area Literacy (BALit), Northern California Literacy Coalition (NCLC), ProLiteracy, Southern California Library Literacy Network (SCLLN)

California Library Hall of Fame

Award Recipients: James Gillis (1857 – 1917)
Michael Gorman (1941 – )
Miriam Matthews (1905 – 2003)
Ursula Meyer (1927 – 2011)
Zoia Horn (1918 – )
Carma Leigh (1904 – 2009)
Regina Minudri (1937 – )
Lawrence Clark Powell (1906 – 2001)
Harry Rowe (1921 – )
Gary Strong (1944 – ) 

CLA President’s Award

Award Recipient: Stefan Moses
Member and Past President of the Hemet Public Library Board of Trustees and CLA Executive Director (1969 – 1986) 

CLA Member of the Year Award

Award Recipient: Jane Light, Library Director, San José Public Library (retired); CLA Legislation and Advocacy Chair