Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CLA Technology Professional Award
Share |

 About the award | Current award recipient | Past award recipients 

The CLA Technology Professional Award acknowledges superior achievement by an individual in those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. The award honors those who have made significant contributions in areas of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology.

A maximum of one award is given each year. The CLA Technology Professional Award recipient is presented with $400 and honored at the CLA annual conference.

The CLA Technology Professional Award is sponsored by Springshare.

Submit a nomination or application for the CLA Technology Professional Award

2017 Award Recipient 

Erin Berman, San José Public Library


Erin Berman is the Innovations Manager for the San José Public Library. She was an American Library Association’s Emerging Leader in the class of 2014, was named one of Library Journal’s Movers and Shakers in 2016 and is currently the Chair of the Fundraising Committee on the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Round Table. Her work in the library field has mainly focused on STEAM education and bridging the technology divide. Projects include Pop-Up Mobile Makerspace, which invited new ways of thinking about public urban space design, the Virtual Privacy Lab empowering people to take control of their online identities, and the Maker[Space]Ship, a state-of-the-art mobile lab.


Award Information

Nomination period
The 2018 award nomination period has closed.


  • Applicants or nominees are required to be CLA members.
  • Applicants or nominees must have worked for a portion of the past year in a California library.
  • Nominators are not required to be CLA members. However, if a nomination is made by a non-member, the nomination must be endorsed by a CLA member. If you need assistance in finding a CLA member to endorse your nomination, please contact the CLA office no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.

How to apply or nominate
The California library community is invited to apply or nominate a colleague for this award. Applicants or nominators should submit a statement (of no more than 500 words) identifying the achievement(s) and briefly describing the impact of the achievement(s) on those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. Criteria for selection are outstanding achievement in one or more of the following areas related to libraries and technology:

  • leadership in professional associations at the local, state, regional, national, or international level;
  • significant contributions to the development, application, or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques, and routines demonstrating creativity and innovation;
  • significant contributions to the professional literature;
  • significant studies or research.

Further Information

  • The CLA Technology Professional Award is coordinated by CLA's Technology Interest Group (TIG).
  • TIG may consider only those individuals who have been formally nominated for the award.
  • TIG reserves the right not to give an award if a qualified candidate is not found.
  • Award recipients will be asked to submit a photograph to be used in award publicity.
  • If you have any questions about the award, please contact Julie Oborny.

Nominate or Apply Now! 

2018 CLA Technology Professional Award Committee

  • Phillip Ballo
  • Julie Oborny, San Jose Public Library (Chair)
  • Tim Ream, LA Southwest College
  • Gabriella Terzian, San Diego Public Library