Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Insider Article [October 2013] [10/01/13] (California Library Hall of Fame)
Share |

California Library Hall of Fame Inductees

The CLA Library History Interest Group is extremely pleased to announce this year’s list of California Library Hall of Fame inductees. All nine honorees were nominated by CLA members and will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as part of the Award Gala festivities during CLA conference, Sunday night, November 3.

This year’s inductees are:

Essae Martha Culver (1882-1973) – rural libraries pioneer, county librarian of Glenn, Butte, and Merced counties, and ALA president

Adelaide Hasse (1868-1953) – creator of the Superintendent of Documents Classification System still in use today, initiator of the first library-training program in California, and one of ALA’s “most influential library leaders of the 20th century” 

Huell Howser (1945-2013) – library and literacy advocate extraordinaire 

John Kallenberg (1942-2011) – Fresno County librarian and president of both CLA and the California Library Services Board 

Ida May Reagan (1875-1971) – county library organizer and Butte County’s first county librarian 

Gretchen Knief Schenk (1901-1989) – intellectual freedom defender, prolific author, and Washington state librarian 

Dr. Kevin Starr (1940-    ) – California state librarian, author, and eloquent library spokesperson 

Althea Warren (1886-1958) – Los Angeles Public Library director and president of both CLA and ALA 

William Henry Weeks (1864-1936) – Carnegie libraries architect 

Thanks to Letitia Bowles, Deborah Doyle, Mary Hanel, Debra Hansen, and David McFadden for selecting such a stellar group of California Library Hall of Fame honorees.
To learn more about our inductees, please visit our Hall of Fame award's page:
Register now to reserve your ticket to the Awards Gala:

Cindy Mediavilla, Chair
Selection Committee
California Library Hall of Fame
CLA Library History Interest Group