Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Insider Article [September 2012] [08/27/12] (CLA Conference Update)
Share |

CLA Conference Update

Do you check your mailbox waiting for that coveted invitation to the Academy Awards? Is your red carpet outfit all picked out but you have nowhere to wear it? No need to fret. Now’s your chance.

Consider this your personal invitation to the California Library Association’s version of the Academy Awards. Join us at the Awards Gala on Friday night, November 2, from 7:00pm -10:00pm and make sure you’re wearing your finest. Celebrate the success of your colleagues while having the time of your life!

Since you’ll undoubtedly be partying hard, why not book a room at the conference hotel, the San José Marriott? It’s convenient to all the conference programs and events and no driving necessary. Make sure you tell them you’re with CLA when you register to get the special conference rate of $125 per night. Better yet, book through the conference site and you will automatically get the CLA rate.

CLA is going green, so don’t forget to bring your entry for the BYOB (Bring Your Own Bag) contest. This is your chance to win a registration to the 2013 conference. 

Want to practice for your upcoming invitation to the presidential inauguration in January? Join us at two events that afford an opportunity to discuss politics and meet political royalty:

  • The CLA Legislative Luncheon on Friday, November 2, is THE place to join with colleagues who share your interest in library advocacy.
  • The CLA membership meeting on Sunday, November 4,— where you can hear from ALA President Maureen Sullivan and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast.

And just in case you didn’t get enough to eat or are looking for more awards ceremonies to attend, join us at the John and Patricia Beatty Award and California Young Reader Medal luncheon which honors this year’s winners of both awards.

Full conference information is available at:

See you soon in San José!

Julie Passalacqua & Teresa Landers
Conference Co-Chairs