Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CC:Right Nav:Awards:TSIG
Share |


2010 TSIG Award of Achievement

This award recognizes colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in those areas of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology and work environments.

Julie MooreJulie Moore
Henry Madden Library, California State University, Fresno

Julie Moore, a Catalog Librarian and tenured, full librarian on the faculty at the Henry Madden Library, Fresno State University, has made significant contributions to the profession of cataloging in California as well as across the U.S. Julie has twice received Fresno State's Outstanding Library Publications Award for the Library, the most recent of which was for the Guide to Cataloging DVD and Blu-ray Discs Using AACR2r and MARC 21: 2008 Update. (She served as co-author and co-editor on the DVD Cataloging Guide Update Task Force, Cataloging Policy Committee, Online Audiovisual Catalogers, Inc.)

Julie was appointed to the American Library Association (ALA) Affiliate Relations Committee, Council of Regional Groups, and Association for Library Collections & Technical Services and utilized her widespread professional contacts to reach state and regional technical service groups not yet affiliated with ALCTS.

Julie's participation on TSIG has been as Secretary, Newsletter Editor, and as Section Assembly Representative during CLA's transition to the new organizational structure. She advocated for the inclusion of technical services interests within the restructured Association and expedited the formation of TSIG as the first CLA interest group.

Julie is an expert cataloger (with a special interest in special formats) and a gifted cataloging educator. Her ability as a trainer and presenter have contributed to CLA TSIG's reputation for quality programs and workshops such as electronic resource management, cataloging realia and explained RDA (Resource Description and Access) in terms of its possible impact on cataloging practice as a poster session. She is also respected for her talents on a nation having made numerous presentations to national organizations such as the North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG), Online Audiovisual Catalogers (OLAC) and ALA.

Julie recently received the 2010 Nancy B. Olson Award, a national award presented by OLAC, in recognition of her significant contributions to the advancement and understanding of audiovisual cataloging, highlighting once again the enthusiastic and tireless devotion she has for the library profession, technical services, and continuing education for catalogers everywhere.  

Committee members
Ida Z. daRoza, Chair, San Mateo County
Sally C. Tseng, University of California, Irvine (Retired)
Michele Alaniz, College of San Mateo


2010 TSIG New Leader Award Winner

This award recognizes a new TSIG leader who actively and enthusiastically embraced their role within the TSIG Interest Group and CLA.

Diane MalmstromDiane Malmstrom
Diane is currently employed in Acquisitions at San José State University's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library, where her responsibilities include database purchasing, gathering statistics and managing ERM records, and resolving access issues with vendors. Her experience with electronic resources gives her insight into an area of increasing important to all libraries, insight that is further informed by her experience ordering and cataloguing materials in Technical Services and training staff and working with faculty and students in Access Services. She has also organized and promoted community events for the San José/Dublin Ireland Sister City Program and served as that organization's secretary. Diane is currently a student in San José State University's School of Library and Information Science.

Committee members
Sandy Schmitz, Chair, Ventura County Library
Sarah A. Buchanan, University of California
Mary Cohen, Palos Verdes Library District