Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Youth Services Interest Group
Share |

Mission

  • Provide professional resources, guidance, and mentorship to library staff providing services to children and teens.
  • Increase awareness and advocacy within the library profession and among the public about services to teens and children.

Goals

  • Lead at least one program at the CLA annual conference. If only one program is presented, it should have a dual focus and be of interest to those serving both children and teen patrons.
  • Lead at least one program at the CLA Spring Fling. If only one program is presented, it should have a dual focus and be of interest to those serving both children and teen patrons.
  • Advocate for children and teen services in California.
  • Offer mentorship to new library staff and library students serving children and teens.

Activities

The Youth Services Interest Group:

  • provides training as part of the CLA Spring Fling professional development series;
  • provides networking opportunities through conferences, trainings, and listserv involvement; and
  • provides resources on interesting and insightful programs for children, tweens, and teens.

Resources

Leadership

Co-Chair: Children
Anna Hartman, San Diego County LibraryAnna.Hartman@sdcounty.ca.gov

Co-Chair: Teens
Courtney Saldana, Ontario City Library: csaldana@ci.ontario.ca.us

Vice-Chair: Children
Kate Hug, Oakland Public Library: khug@oaklandlibrary.org

Vice-Chair: Teens
Erik Berman, San Jose Public Library: erik.berman@sjlibrary.org

Programs Co-Chair: Children
Rachelle Lopez, Ontario City Library: rlopez@ci.ontario.ca.us

Programs Co-Chair: Teens
Margaret Stawowy, San Rafael Public Library: Margaret.Stawowy@cityofsanrafael.org

Programs Co-Chair: Children
Casey McCoy, San Jose Public Library

Programs Co-Chair: Teens
Nichole King, Santa Clara County Library District, Morgan Hill: nking@sccl.org

Social Media Co-Chair: Children
Ally Goodwin, Carlsbad Public Library: Allyson.Goodwin@carlsbadca.gov

Social Media Co-Chair: Children
Kristin Ward, San Diego County Library: Kristin.Ward@sdcounty.ca.gov

Social Media Co-Chair: Teens
Alyson Hamlin, Riverside County Library System, Calimesa LIbrary: alyson.hamlin@rivlib.net

Social Media Co-Chair: Teens
Deborah Takahashi, Pasadena Public Library: dtakahashi@cityofpasadena.net

Board Structure

The Youth Services Interest Group Board comprises:

Two co-chairs, two vice chairs, two social media chairs, and four programming chairs. Each position has a two-year term of service, and the positions are divided equally between childrens' and teen services.

Please complete and submit the application form if you would like to become a member of the Youth Services Interest Group leadership team.

Discussion

Members of the Youth Services Interest Group are invited to join the Youth Services listserv where members communicate and share information.

Please note: the listserv will be reviewed twice per year and non-active CLA members will be removed from the list.