Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Management Interest Group
Share |

Purpose

The Management Interest Group promotes excellence in the management, administration, and governance of libraries in California. Whether you're currently a leader or are exploring a leadership role in the future, the Management Interest Group provides networking and learning opportunities for library leaders of today and tomorrow.

Major initiatives

CLA Mentoring Program
CLA and the Management Interest Group are proud to announce the revival of the Mentoring Program! Please visit our Mentoring Program page to participate!

LEAD: Management Interest Group Newsletter
Our newsletter comes out three times a year, September, November, and January. Find articles and curated links on management issues in and outside of libraries, book reviews, and events at Annual Conference, Spring Fling, and throughout the year.

Career Resources
Annual Conference sessions on topics ranging from tax measure development to preparing for leadership change.


Leadership

Co-Chairs
Leonard Hernandez, San Bernardino County Library: leonard.hernandez@cao.sbcounty.gov
Michael Jimenez, San Bernardino County Library: mjimenez@lib.sbcounty.gov

Social Media Chair
Mary Abler, San Francisco Public Library: mary.abler@gmail.com

Program Committee
Amy Chirman, Santa Cruz Public Libraries: chirmana@santacruzpl.org
Heidi Murphy, Pleasanton Public Library: hmurphy@cityofpleasantonca.gov
Tara Smith, Pasadena Public Library: tarasmith@cityofpasadena.net
Erika Thibault, Los Angeles Public Library: ethibault@lapl.org

Mentoring
Laura Einstadter, Amador County Library: leinstadter@amadorgov.org

Board Members

  • Mary Abler, San Francisco Public Library
  • Heather Cousin, City Librarian, Thousand Oaks Public Library
  • Laura Einstadter, County Librarian, Amador County Library
  • Clio Hathaway, Youth Services Manager, Hayward Public Library
  • Helen McAlary, Library Director, Ontario City Library
  • Sean Reinhart, Library and Community Services Director, Hayward Public Library
  • Sandra Stewart, Division Manager, San Jose Public Library
  • Hillary Theyer, City Librarian, Torrance Public Library
  • Kathleen Wade, Regional Services Manager, OC Public Libraries
  • Betty Waznis, Library Director, Chula Vista Public Library

Meeting Minutes

Find out what the leadership team and group member have been discussing by reviewing our meeting minutes.

Discussion

Members of the Management Interest Group are invited to join the Management listserv where members communicate and share information.

Please note: the listserv will be reviewed twice per year and non-active CLA members will be removed from the list.